Damongo Is The Capital For Savannah Region


Damongo Is The Capital For Savannah Region

Damango has been named as the capital of the newly created Savannah Region. This was announced by President Nana Akufo-Addo at a ceremony at the Jubilee House to present the Constitutional Instrument backing the creation of the region.

In explaining the choice, the President said: “You will not be far from wrong if you described the Savannah Region as the latest developed part of the Northern Region. The irony in all of this is that the Savannah Region is blessed with an abundance of natural resources.”

He indicated that the “onus is now on the government to put into motion the processes for the rapid development of the Savannah Region.”

The Savannah Region was carved out of the Northern Region following a massive YES vote in a referendum held on Thursday, December 27, 2018.

The districts making up the Savannah Region are Bole District, North Gonja District, Sawla-Tuna-Kalba District, West Gonja District, East Gonja Municipality and the Central Gonja District.

Nalerigu named capital of North East Region

The President earlier announced the oldest town in the East Mamprusi Municipal Assembly, Nalerigu as the capital of the North East Region.

The Northern Regional Minister, Salifu Saeed has also been named the caretaker Minister of the region which has an estimated population of 440,000.

The President believes “with dedication and commitment, the North East region will develop and touch the life of every resident and help us to build the great nation of Ghana we all desire.”

The districts making up the North East Region are the East Mamprusi Municipality, the West Mamprusi Municipality, the Bunkprugu-Nakpanduri District, the Yunyoo-Nasuan District, the Mamprugu-Moagduri District and the Chereponi District.

Source: citinewsroom.com| Ghana

Source link